Description
Upon logging in to QuickBooks, after entering the username and password, you may see a pop-up that says “Building Reports,” similar to the one shown below. This process delays the login, and the user is unable to begin working in QuickBooks until it completes.
What causes this
This is a combination of the following QuickBooks settings/reports:
- Memorized Reports.
- Reports & Graph settings in Preferences.
- Desktop View settings in Preferences.
How to fix this
The user can click ESC when the reports are getting refreshed; This will temporary stop those reports from being refreshed. Any or all of the following has worked in our tests:
- Deleting the memorized reports for the user, this might not be the ideal solution.
- Changing "When a report or graphs needs to be refreshed" to "Don't refresh" (Edit --> Preferences --> Reports & Graphs)

Optionally, try changing "Desktop View" settings to "Don't Save the desktop" (Edit --> Preferences --> Reports & Graphs)