How do I disconnect, but not log off my account

How do I disconnect, but not log off my account

Unless otherwise communicated to you or agreed upon, these are the default parameters for your account disconnections:
  1. An active session can be running for 12 hours
  2. an Idle session can be idle for 2 hours
    1. An idle session is defined by the mouse not moving on the screen.
  3. A disconnected session will be fully logged off after 15 minutes. 
In certain special circumstances, it is required that an account be disconnected, but not logged off. 
An example of this is when there is an application that needs to be running in the background at all times. 

To do so, login to the account, and launch the application in question, then, perform the following to disconnect the session: 
On the bottom right of your screen, right click on the "Remote Desktop" icon, and select "Disconnect All Sessions"